Shabbat Gathering: Happy Passover!

Shabbat Gathering: Happy Passover!
Nothing but the best!

Dear Chevrei, as is our custom, we will gather tonight at 5.45p ct to welcome Shabbat. These are the coordinates:

Zoom
Meeting ID: 883 8469 4181
Password: 822665
Phone: +1 312 626 6799

(To unsubscribe from the newsletter, click the link at the very bottom of this email.)

Here we go.

Unlike previous years when I’ve written about Pesach, I’m going to send you a long collection of PS messages from far and wide about Pesach.

First, I hope everyone heard Rabbi Laurie on the Madison Minute podcast. She was sooo good. Here’s a link:

Everything You’ve Wanted to Know about Seders But Were Afraid to Ask by City Cast Madison

Second, here’s a poem from a Passover supplement from Gashmius magazine:

Like Moses in the Nile
We float on the great waters.
Like Pharaoh’s daughter,
We bathe in the river of life.
Like Miriam in the reeds,
We wait for a sign.

Third, here is a recipe is from YIVO’s cookbook, The Vilna Vegetarian:

Passover Cheesecake
by Fania Lewando

Press 1 1/2 cups farmer cheese through a sieve.

Add 3 eggs, 1/3 cup sugar, 1/2 cup melted butter, 1 tablespoon sour cream, and a little cinnamon, and stir until creamy.

Beat 3 egg whites into a meringue, and gently fold in 3 yolks, some salt, and 1 tablespoon sugar.

Add to cheese mixture.

Meanwhile, soak 4 matzos in water for 5 minutes.

Grease a cake pan with butter, and sprinkle with matzo meal. Line with half of the matzos.

Pour in the cheese batter, add 1/2 cup melted butter, and top with the remaining matzos.

Bake 25 minutes.

Yummy!

So...

May you and yours have a freylekhn Peysekh! Happy Passover!

And may it be for all of us a blessing.

See you tonight!
Gut Shabbes!

All my love,
brian.

PS

Finally! Someone Made a Phallic Passover Table Runner - Hey Alma
Few things in this world give me as much joy as Jewish holiday decor mishaps. I’ll never forget the thrill of discovering an absolutely haunted hooded blanket from Target’s 2021 Hanukkah collection or the superiority of seeing Bed Bath & Beyond’s pillow which reads “Why Is This Night Different From All Other Nights? Happy Hanukkah.” […]
Empty chairs, mirrors and pomegranates: How Jews are bringing the Israel-Hamas war to their seder tables this Passover - Jewish Telegraphic Agency
Many of this year’s additions focus on women and Hamas’ reported sexual abuses on Oct. 7 and since.
Did the Ancient Sage Hillel Really Invent the Sandwich? » Mosaic
The truth of the tale of Hillel and the “Hillel sandwich.”
18 Thoughts I Had While Watching ‘Prince of Egypt’ for the First Time - Hey Alma
My Passover prep and celebrations have always been consistent. I alternate between saying Passover and Pesach, I use the Maxwell House haggadah at my seder and I watch “Shalom Sesame Passover” — okay, that mostly happened when I was younger, but I stand by it being an excellent piece of Jewish culture! I was staunch […]
Let All Who Are Hungry Come and Eat · Jewschool
At this year’s seder, the same war criminals who have forced Palestinian families to flee their homes will lift up their matzah and wax poetic about the Israelites’ rush to escape Egypt. The same politicians who have manufactured a famine in Gaza, leading millions to the brink of starvation, will proudly declare: “Let all who are hungry come and eat.”
My Non-Jewish Boyfriend Is an Essential Part of My Passover Seder - Hey Alma
Passover is my favorite Jewish holiday.I love the ritualistic combination of profundity and utter silliness, I love the simultaneous focus on past, present and future, and I have even come to love the eggs in salt water. But most of all, I love it because it’s the Jewish holiday that my family does the biggest. […]
To the Relative Skipping the Seder This Year – Kveller
I was angry when I got her text. And hurt. One of my close relatives wrote that she would not be coming to our seder this year. She said, “Three of us have other plans as we are not comfortable with the seder texts and intentions.” What? You’re boycotting the “intentions” of a thousand-year-old Jewish […]
Audio: My grandmother singing the Passover hymn ‘Chasal siddur pesach’
לכּבֿוד פּסח, און אפֿשר נישט צופֿעליק דווקא הײַיאָר, האָב איך זיך דערמאָנט אַז מיט 35 יאָר צוריק, פֿאַר פּסח תשמ״ט (1989), האָב איך רעקאָרדירט מײַן באָבע פֿייגע לאַופֿמאַן ע״ה: זי האָט געזונגען „חסל סדור פּסח“ און דערציילט אַ פּאָר זכרונות פֿונעם יום־טובֿ אין די מלחמה־יאָרן. איר זכּרון איז דעמאָלט שוין געווען שוואַך און איך האָב…
That Time Sarah Jessica Parker Interviewed Oscar the Grouch About Passover – Kveller
I love so many of Sarah Jessica Parker‘s roles, but that time she played TV reporter Peggy Pey on “Shalom Sesame,” the Jewish spinoff of the classic PBS kid’s show, is truly one of my favorites. The year is 1991, and the future “Sex and the City” star, known back then for her roles in […]
Easy Potato, Spinach and Cheese Matzah Pie | The Nosher
A staple of Sephardi Passover tables, mina de matza (sometimes simply called mina) is a type of savory pie stacked…
How Jewish refugees made a Seder in 1941 in Kobe, Japan
In her diary, Yiddish actress Shoshana Kahan wrote that they needed eggs to make the matzah balls, but in Japan it was very hard to get them.
The Slacker’s Guide to Celebrating Passover - Hey Alma
There are two kinds of Jews in this world: Jews who start prepping for Passover in February, and Jews who woke up today and said “Passover’s next week?!?!” I am the former. If you are the latter, I regret to inform you that yes, first night seder is in seven days. But don’t worry — […]

-30-